There are a number of times we’ve all wondered how to delete Instagram account, for a variety of reasons. But before you know about how to delete Instagram, here’s a brief about what exactly Instagram is. Instagram – one of the most commonly used social media platform for sharing photos and videos with your friends and family. It is a simple-to-use app for staying socially active and staying up-to-date with all the latest social news and information. It also provides a means to chat with and send media to individual accounts. With Instagram, you can also discover pictures and videos related to different topics that indulge you. These may include celebrities’ lifestyle, food, animals, travel destinations and so on.
However, there may come a time when you no longer wish to access your Instagram account for various reasons. Some of the commonly observed reasons may include the following:
- When you want to cut down on your social life and are willing to stay low key
- In case your account has been hacked and is misused
- When you are willing to start afresh and hence want to erase off all the old photos and videos from your account permanently
- When you wish to take a break from the app for a while
In such cases, you might be confused as to how to delete Instagram account permanently, or disable it temporarily and reactivate it later. Get to know how to do so by reading further.
Simple steps – How to delete Instagram account
In order for you to delete Instagram account, you will require a web browser on a smartphone, tablet or desktop. The option to delete your account is not available within the app itself.
Log in to your Instagram account
For deleting your account, firstly login to instagram.com from the web browser. Enter your phone number, username or email and password and log in to your account from your device.
Go to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page
After logging in, you should go to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page. You will see a drop-down menu next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’. Choose the reason why you want to delete your Instagram account. These include ‘privacy concerns’, ‘concerned about my data’, ‘created a second account’, ‘trouble getting started’, ‘too busy/too distracting’ and many more. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after selecting a reason from the menu.
Enter your password and click on ‘Permanently Delete My Account’
After you select an option from the reasons listed, you need to re-enter your account password. This is only to confirm that you wish to permanently delete your Instagram account. You will then get an option to permanently delete your account. However, Instagram will keep making suggestions and make you re-think whether you want to delete your Instagram account or not. If you are firm on your decision, you can click ‘Permanently Delete My Account’.
Link to Delete Instagram: Link
What happens after you delete your Instagram account?
Once you have confirmed to delete your Instagram account, your account gets successfully deleted permanently. Then, you won’t have access to any of your content. Your profile, photos, videos, followers, likes, and comments will also be deleted along with your account. All the data related to your Instagram account won’t be available, to help you move forward with your life.
Also, when you create another Instagram account in the future, you cannot use the same username as your previously deleted account for signing up. When you delete your Instagram account, it will be gone forever. You will never be able to reactivate your account once you delete it permanently.
Sometimes you may want to get away from Instagram, but you may not be willing to delete it permanently. When you only wish to take a break and get back later, you don’t need to delete your account. You can simply deactivate your account temporarily.
Simple steps to deactivate Instagram account/ to disable your Instagram account temporarily
The steps to deactivate your Instagram account are similar to the steps mentioned under How to delete Instagram account. Similar to when you want to delete your Instagram account, even for temporarily disabling your Instagram account, you cannot do it from the app itself. You will need to log in through the web browser on your smartphone, tablet or PC.
Log in to your Instagram account
For deactivating your account temporarily, firstly login to instagram.com from the web browser. Enter your phone number, username or email and password and log in to your account from your device.
Click ‘Edit Profile’ and select ‘Temporarily disable my account’
After logging in to your account, go to your profile by clicking on at the top right. Then click on ‘Edit Profile’ and select ‘Temporarily disable my account’ at the bottom right of the screen.
You will then see the ‘Why are you disabling your account?’ drop-down menu in front of you. Select the reason for disabling your account from the options provided. These include ‘privacy concerns’, ‘concerned about my data’, ‘created a second account’, ‘trouble getting started’, ‘too busy/too distracting’ and many more. The options provided in the drop-down menu are the same when you want to deactivate or delete your Instagram account.
Enter your password and click on ‘Temporarily Disable Account’
After you select the reason for deactivation of your account, Instagram asks you to re-enter your password. This is only for confirmation purposes. You will then get an option to temporarily disable your account. Click on ‘Temporarily Disable Account’ in order to deactivate your Instagram account.
What happens after you temporarily disable your Instagram account?
Once you confirm to temporarily disable your Instagram account and your account is deactivated or temporarily disabled, all your content will be hidden. Your profile, photos, followers, comments, and likes – hidden until you reactivate your account by logging back in.
When you want a break from Instagram but do not wish to lose your content, or think you would come back to it anytime in the future, temporarily disabling your account is a good option. However, you can deactivate your account only once in a week.
Simple steps to reactivate your Instagram account
Done taking a break from Instagram? You can simply reactivate your account which you deactivated. You can do so in just a single step – login to your Instagram account again.
As done while deactivating your account, firstly go to instagram.com from your smartphone, tablet or PC. Then enter your phone number, username or email and password and log in to your account. This will restore your disabled account and you can now enjoy using your Instagram account again. Thus, you can access all your photos, videos, likes, comments and followers as you did earlier.